October 31, 2014, 06:48:20 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the new SCdev forums!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story not working on sp8  (Read 12917 times)
Granville
Member
*

Props: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 22



View Profile Email
« Reply #15 on: September 12, 2009, 06:01:17 AM »

I guess all we can do is wait for an update from Supercard, although I have no clue how fast they will be. Or maybe another patch will come out. Either way, nothing we can do now. It won't run on any firmware that works on Supercard. Otherwise, I'd play on DSTT firmware. And on DSTT, the cheat doesn't even do ANYTHING, completely ineffective.
Logged

The Rainbow Fanatic
dai_uk
Established Member
*

Props: 6
Offline Offline

Posts: 613



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: September 12, 2009, 07:38:00 AM »

Agreed, if it's working on another cart then all you need do is be patient :-)

Logged

Damo
fexo
Established Member
*

Props: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 317


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: September 12, 2009, 02:40:29 PM »

As I mentioned in the post I did the crack for the AceKard/AKAIO. It seems to work fine, but I have been trying to get my son to test it fully, but he's busy playing on the computer!!

Whatever the crack does, it removes 40Mb from the game, presumably some of the protection.

It is reported that the game works perfectly with a few emulators.
Logged
anuarbin
Established Member
*

Props: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 143



View Profile
« Reply #18 on: September 12, 2009, 05:19:59 PM »

http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=178914&st=315
maybe somebody try the method in the above link?
I tried and it work great so far(saving and first bowser battle no prob)
but this game is not my taste for me to test further.
EDIT:remember when using clean mode, saves are not saved directly.
just turn on and off your ds to be safe. Wink
« Last Edit: September 12, 2009, 05:56:11 PM by anuarbin » Logged

yo cin
Granville
Member
*

Props: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 22



View Profile Email
« Reply #19 on: September 12, 2009, 06:48:51 PM »

I can confirm that the game IS possible to get loaded in Supercard DS-One, but your success might depend on your microSD speed.

You can use DSATM to patch the rom directly with the cheat code from Normmatt-

52064138 E1A00005
5206413C E28DDE22
02064138 E3A00001
D0000000 00000000
D0000000 00000000

Then deselect ALL options in the supercard game menu, all patches, make sure ALL check boxes are unchecked. Load the rom you patched with the code above and it should work, depending possibly on your SD speed.

I have two microSD's one of which is slower than the other. The faster one played the game, the slower one just gave white screens on bootup. Also very important- since you've deselected some saving patches, you will have to re enter the supercard firmware to be able to back up your save file to the microSD. Deselecting the "patch saver" option makes the save store itself in the supercard's own hardware, and it will not back up to the microSD until you load the supercard menu again.
Logged

The Rainbow Fanatic
Alfadir
Established Member
*

Props: 4
Offline Offline

Posts: 76



View Profile Email
« Reply #20 on: September 12, 2009, 10:44:27 PM »

For the one with slow µSD card use the rom patched with DSATM and use enable patch and patch sd card read speed (no other functions !).
Logged

Granville
Member
*

Props: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 22



View Profile Email
« Reply #21 on: September 13, 2009, 01:18:05 AM »

For the one with slow µSD card use the rom patched with DSATM and use enable patch and patch sd card read speed (no other functions !).

When I did this on my slow microSD, it hangs at the data creation box saying-

"Unable to access save data. Please turn off the power and reinsert the Game Card."

Without the options checked, it gives a frozen white screen on boot.
Logged

The Rainbow Fanatic
Alfadir
Established Member
*

Props: 4
Offline Offline

Posts: 76



View Profile Email
« Reply #22 on: September 13, 2009, 08:36:43 AM »

Do you really use the ROM patched with DSATM with those options ? :
52064138 E1A00005
5206413C E28DDE22
02064138 E3A00001
D0000000 00000000
D0000000 00000000



I had tried it with a really slow 512Mo memory card with options enable patch & patch sd card read speed checked it works.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2009, 09:06:57 AM by Alfadir » Logged

anuarbin
Established Member
*

Props: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 143



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: September 13, 2009, 09:41:08 AM »

Do you really use the ROM patched with DSATM with those options ? :
52064138 E1A00005
5206413C E28DDE22
02064138 E3A00001
D0000000 00000000
D0000000 00000000



I had tried it with a really slow 512Mo memory card with options enable patch & patch sd card read speed checked it works.
are you using the latest firmware version?
because I get the same error like Granville using sp8
Not that I did not trust you, but a video will be nice Smiley
Logged

yo cin
Granville
Member
*

Props: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 22



View Profile Email
« Reply #24 on: September 13, 2009, 06:42:40 PM »

Do you really use the ROM patched with DSATM with those options ? :
52064138 E1A00005
5206413C E28DDE22
02064138 E3A00001
D0000000 00000000
D0000000 00000000



I had tried it with a really slow 512Mo memory card with options enable patch & patch sd card read speed checked it works.
Quite sure. I know how to patch with DSATM and use all options for Supercard. I can assure you i know what i'm doing here. I'm pretty sure the level of success with this game is completely microSD dependent. Ironically, on the microSD that actually plays the game for me, enabling patch and patch speed breaks the game. I get a black screen freeze when loading a game.

One thing i've noticed when playing with all options off is there's noticeable lag and loading times now present. Sometimes, scenes will slow down slightly, and battle transitions take up to 4-5 seconds instead of instantly like they should be. It doesn't break the game, it's totally playable, but it's very noticeable. It reminds me of what the game would be like had they ported to ps1. Kind of like the lag seen in the ports of Chrono Trigger and FF6 for ps1. It doesn't bother me, but it might bother others.

And enabling patches and speed patch fixes this lag, I noticed it took me instantly to the start menu without loading. The issue is though, the patches break the game and won't let you load files.
Logged

The Rainbow Fanatic
Alfadir
Established Member
*

Props: 4
Offline Offline

Posts: 76



View Profile Email
« Reply #25 on: September 13, 2009, 09:07:23 PM »

I use a ndsinfo.dat made by myself and i have added the 4163 rom and save size in it (adding in using patched rom).

perhaps it's why it's working for me and not for you.

Try it.

P.S. : i will host the video on an ftp, youtube don't want to add it ??

P.P.S. : done ^^ the video is here : http://skins.supercard.fr/M&LBIS.AVI

P.P.P.S. : of course playing a game with no option at all (only uncheck the enable patch is enough ^^) is depending of µSD. This mode is the clean mode, no speedup for memory access, no DMA, no nothing. If your µSD is slow the game will be laggy. Autodetect your µSD speed and try to increase the result little by little.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2009, 09:21:16 PM by Alfadir » Logged

sudeki300
Member
*

Props: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #26 on: September 13, 2009, 11:30:03 PM »

is this on supercard sp8?

if so can you please post a small tut on how to make the ndsinfo.dat and what to do with the rom as i'm a complete numpty when it comes to this type of thing. good work on getting the game to work.......................sudeki300
Logged
Granville
Member
*

Props: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 22



View Profile Email
« Reply #27 on: September 13, 2009, 11:43:32 PM »

I created my own ndsinfo.dat with the rom info and save info too, that did nothing besides tell me the save size and such. On my slow microSD, these are the things that happen-

ALL patches and all options unchecked- white screen on boot, no logos or anything
Patch and patch speed checked- I get to the save menu, when loading a new game, black screen freeze

So this doesn't seem to work at all. Interesting tidbit- when going into Other > AUTO Set SD Speed, I get this message-

csd data 128bit:
007FFF325F5A83CD76DB DFFF968000ED
TRAN SPEED:2.5*10Mbit
TAAC:8.0*10ms
NSAC:100*255 clock
capacity :2041577472byte
            1947Mbyte

It is too slow!
SC DS will not support it!
Press 'B' key it will return.


I've never had issues with other games, but I realize my card is slow. Probably way too slow. It passes this AUTO Set SD Speed test on my other faster card. The one that actually lets me play Mario (although with some of the weird lagging and loading I told you about. I'll test the compiled ndsinfo.dat on that card and see if it does anything, but like I said, it seems to freeze after loading a file.

By the way, if anyone wants an edited ndsinfo.dat file with the patched rom, here's the one I made using the rom information and correct save size-

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?uwozjwn51un

I did skip quite a few releases, about 10 or so. And this is just for the Mario game patched with the cheat code in DSATM. I imagine the unpatched rom has different info. Just a temporary file.

EDIT- the ndsinfo.dat doesn't help on my fast SD card either. The game will boot and play fine (with minor lag and loading issues) without patch and patch speed on, but with them checked, it freezes after loading a file.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2009, 11:51:52 PM by Granville » Logged

The Rainbow Fanatic
Alfadir
Established Member
*

Props: 4
Offline Offline

Posts: 76



View Profile Email
« Reply #28 on: September 14, 2009, 05:20:15 AM »

is this on supercard sp8?
Yes it's the OS3SP8 with one of my skins.

@Granville :
I have no more idea  Huh?
For this slow memory i think you will have to wait for a supercard official update.

Perhaps try to format your memory with biggest clusters you can.

What kind of memory do you have ?

« Last Edit: September 14, 2009, 05:22:05 AM by Alfadir » Logged

Granville
Member
*

Props: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 22



View Profile Email
« Reply #29 on: September 14, 2009, 05:58:29 AM »

I'm not sure of the classes of the cards I'm using, but my cards are as follows-

Kingston 2GB Taiwan (slow one)
Sandisk 1GB Taiwan (fast one)

The game doesn't work at all on the 2GB card. It either freezes at bootup, or with speed patch enabled, it freezes after loading a file. The 1GB one plays it ok, with the minor lag and loading times I mentioned earlier. I'm ok with that, as long as my Supercard doesn't relapse into its psram error it was afflicted with when I bought it.

I'm ok with waiting for a fix. And Supercard IS pretty good at fixing things, if nothing else. They are competent at getting out firmware updates when games don't work right. Since it's totally possible to play the game already, even in a slightly slow state at times, it SHOULD be possible for them to fix it completely. That's my logic anyways.
Logged

The Rainbow Fanatic
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC