Author Topic: 4GB SD Card on Supercard ?  (Read 4225 times)

Offline icepick

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Props: 0
    • View Profile
4GB SD Card on Supercard ?
« on: September 23, 2006, 01:15:20 AM »
Hi, Herself purchased a 4GB sd card for the daughter's DS (the aim was to put Game/ Movies on it)...but having transfered files from her 2GB sd card, the 4GB card displays  NOT FAT Formatted ....Is there a way around this or does Supercard Only support cards up to 2GB ?

Offline johnny9562001

  • Established Member
  • *
  • Posts: 588
  • Props: 2
    • View Profile
4GB SD Card on Supercard ?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2006, 01:28:12 AM »
it does support 4gb, this is how

You have to format it at command prompt (XP)

format H: /FS:FAT /V:GBA /Q

Where H: is whatever your drive letter is and GBA can be named to whatever you want to appear.

It will say you must accept 64kb block size (as per previous post) so just reply "y".
black Ds lite (flash me V7)
2GB MicroSD japan kingston
Supercard Lite
EZ flash deluxe
R4
(\__/)
(o'.'o)
(")_(") This is bunny. Copy bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

Offline icepick

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Props: 0
    • View Profile
4GB SD Card on Supercard ?
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2006, 04:46:06 AM »
Hi johnny9562001,
Thankyou very much for your help - followed the instructions, works a treat.
Thanks also for being a 'gentleman' and not flaming us, as it was only after your answer we realised a similar question had already been asked - the wonders of thinking we are the only ones with a particular problem !
 
  :)

Offline WarMachine

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Props: 0
    • View Profile
4GB SD Card on Supercard ?
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2007, 01:23:44 PM »
it gives me a file name directory name or volume label syntax is incorrect error

Offline kkan

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3392
  • Props: 5
    • View Profile
4GB SD Card on Supercard ?
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2007, 03:08:50 PM »
Quote from: "johnny9562001"
it does support 4gb, this is how

You have to format it at command prompt (XP)

format H: /FS:FAT /V:GBA /Q

Where H: is whatever your drive letter is and GBA can be named to whatever you want to appear.

It will say you must accept 64kb block size (as per previous post) so just reply "y".

Will it not let you do this in disk management in xp?? (at least in xp pro you can!)  by right clicking mycomputer icon and choosing manage then disk management from there select the removable device and choose format selecting FAT and setting the  allocation unit size to 64k  :)

You could also maby do this in some windows partitioning tools :)

Offline Devil_Spawn

  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 1668
  • Props: 24
    • MSN Messenger - nds123@hotmail.co.uk
    • View Profile
    • Email
4GB SD Card on Supercard ?
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2007, 05:28:56 PM »
in standard windows xp partitioning it does not allow a FAT16 format only FAT32

Offline kkan

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3392
  • Props: 5
    • View Profile
4GB SD Card on Supercard ?
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2007, 06:00:32 PM »
Quote from: "Devil_Spawn"
in standard windows xp partitioning it does not allow a FAT16 format only FAT32

I did state at least you can in XP PRO you can format to FAT :)




I guess its not available in HOME edition then  :roll: :(

Offline Devil_Spawn

  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 1668
  • Props: 24
    • MSN Messenger - nds123@hotmail.co.uk
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 4GB SD Card on Supercard ?
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2007, 12:09:04 AM »
im talking about simple right click->format ;)

Offline kkan

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3392
  • Props: 5
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB SD Card on Supercard ?
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2007, 12:46:21 AM »
im talking about simple right click->format ;)

I like to make things a challenge  :P :)

Offline cwnhs

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Props: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB SD Card on Supercard ?
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2007, 08:12:14 PM »
does what you have to do with a sd card apply to 4gb cf? i've formatted it into fat but still does not work properly. It won't run homebrew unless I run it from moonshell.  As well with moonshell i have to open moonshell in itself to work properly.

The info that I keep finding is about sd. I should also mention the card that I have is an SANDISK ULTRA II
« Last Edit: July 11, 2007, 08:37:26 PM by cwnhs »